SAINT DEATH: Review

31145190Saint Death by Marcus Sedgwick
Published by Roaring Brook Press on April 25, 2017
Genres: contemporary
Pages: 240
Format: Hardback
Amazon Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | Audible

Rating: ★★★★


I read this book twice before finally getting around to writing a review for it. It’ll be a short review, granted, partially because I’m dipping my feet slowly back into this after quite a while. But also because I’m worried I won’t be able to give this book full justice.

In the time between my two read-throughs of this book, the issues Saint Death discusses have only become more prominent–and more important. Immigration. Outsourcing of labor. Mexican drug lords. Crime. Poverty. Desperation.

Luck.

Or is it luck? Arturo enters a risky situation–a literal bet on his friend’s life–that quickly becomes a fight for his own life, and he’s gonna need all the help he can get. This book follows the twenty-four hours (or so) surrounding a card game where Arturo must win enough money to pay for his friend Fausto’s debts to the latter’s gang leader, or Fausto will be murdered. Yet, this book discusses so much more. It’s a musing on how America views Mexico, and just how desperate life in Mexico is for the people there. It’s a story involving faith (“Saint Death,” known as Santa Muerte colloquially, is a religious entity prayed to by many Mexicans and is featured as a character in the book throughout the story) and luck and where they intersect.

I know I’m being nebulous, but it’s a short book, and I’m worried if I go into too much detail I’ll accidentally spoil something. I’ll say this, though: This book depicts life in Mexico as it is, not as we want it to be. It made my heart hurt and gave me a perspective on the border control situation I really didn’t have before. Saint Death has hauntingly majestic writing and a format that will keep you on your toes. It’s unique, it’s engaging, and it’s short. But it’s also a book that’ll make you think. And it’s worth a read, if only for that.

 

 

 

Published by anastasianich0le

A bibliophile, student journalist, and aspiring author who considers interacting with fictional characters to be a social life.

Leave a comment