#GetGraphic Readathon 2017: TBR

If you know me, you know I’m all about routine. I hate change and transitions, and I thrive off of rituals and knowing when, how, and how often I’m going to do something.

So I’m trying to push my comfort zone a little this October and read some graphic novels.

I have a few on my TBR, but it’s not a medium I’ve really explored. Then I saw Sam from Thoughts on Tomes do a video on #GetGraphic, a challenge where you can only read graphic novels, comics, or manga. Hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes, Kayla from BOOKadoodles, Kristin from whatskappening, and Adriana from perpetualpages, the readathon starts at 5 p.m. on October 6, and it ends at midnight on October 8. Though I have a commitment spanning the whole of that weekend, I’m attempting to squeeze some books in between.

Here’s what I’ll be reading. Wish me luck!

13615Death Note, Vol. 1: Boredom (Death Note, #1) by Tsugumi Ohba, Takeshi Obata (Illustrator)

This series has been on my TBR for literally years, and this readathon is the perfect excuse to jump right into it! I hope I like it. 🙂

 

 

 

29396738

Monstress, Vol. 1: Awakening (Monstress, #1) by Marjorie M. Liu (Writer), Sana Takeda (Artist)

This sounds so different from anything I’ve ever read, and the cover art looks incredibly cool. Steampunk? Matriarchal Asia? Sounds like a recipe for awesome. I can’t wait.

twilight_the_graphic_novelTwilight: The Graphic Novel, Vol. 1 & 2 (Twilight: The Graphic Novel, #1) by Stephenie Meyer, Young Kim (Art/Adaptation)

I know, I know. But the artwork looks so pretty and shiny and AHHH, I’M CURIOUS. JUST LET ME INDULGE IN THE PRETTY, OKAY? And if I end up hating it, that’s completely on me.

17929637East of West, Vol. 1: The Promise (East of West (Collected Editions) #1) by Jonathan Hickman (Writer), Nick Dragotta (Artist), Frank Martin (Colourist), Rus Wooton (Letterer)

This is supposed to be about the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, only Death has gone rogue. Sounds epic, right? I’m going to try reading it. 🙂

64229

Maus: A Survivor’s Tale: My Father Bleeds History (Maus, #1) by Art Spiegelman

I’ve had a friend recommend this to me before, and I love anything to do with WWII, so this is a must-read. I look forward to reading it; a lot of people say this book is a classic!

6369113Lips Touch: Three Times by Laini Taylor, Jim Di Bartolo (Contributor)

I tried to read this once before and ended up putting it down. But the artwork was beautiful, so I think I’ll give it another chance. Perhaps the second time’s the charm?

 

 

81xf2bp29bdl

Objectif Lune (Tintin, #16) by Hergé

Yes, I know this is in French. But this book was a gift to me from some friends several years ago, and I took some French back in the day, so it’d be fun to go back and review. I’m excited to see how much of it I can understand.

There are a few more I want to try and read, but we’ll see if I can get my hands on them. I’ll be sure to let all of you know how this goes, because I’m really, really excited about it!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

