THRONE OF GLASS (Throne of Glass, #1): Review

Hello, all! This post should technically be a September wrap-up, but I’m going to skip that this month, as I haven’t made much of a dent in my TBR. :/ So I’m posting a review instead. Enjoy!


23599075

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1) by Sarah J. Maas
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on May 7, 2013
Genres: young adult, fantasy
Pages: 404
Format: Hardcover
Amazon Goodreads | Audible

Rating: ★★★


This is going to be another one of those not-so-helpful reviews. This book was fine, but, for me, it wasn’t fantastic. I actually don’t remember that much about it.

Wait, I take my first statement back. Maybe this review will be more helpful than I thought. Because I can’t remember much about this book, which means I don’t have many concretely specific details. But that also tells you a lot about my reading experience.

Given all the hype, this book is a surprisingly generic fantasy. The characters, the kingdom, the contest–it’s all stuff I’ve read before. And given how much people rave about this series, I was disappointed by Throne of Glass‘s mediocrity.

Granted, I may not remember much about the book because I’ve read the other four, too, and I read this a long time ago. However, having read the other four, I can confidently say that this series is engaging–just not in this book. Maas begins coming into her own as a fantasy writer in Crown of Midnight, and, by Heir of Fire, she’s hit her stride. It just takes time, and these books aren’t short, especially by the third one.

My verdict? If you’re interested in giving this series a try, read Throne of Glass without setting your expectations too high. If you happen to love Throne of Glass, though, that’s excellent. Because, in my opinion, the books only get better and more sophisticated from there.

One thought on “THRONE OF GLASS (Throne of Glass, #1): Review

  1. Pingback: THRONE OF GLASS (Throne of Glass, #1): Review — Books, Tea, & Insanity | Fantasy Sources: Art, Gifts, Ideas, Article Resources, News

Leave a Reply

