WIP WEDNESDAY (NANOWRIMO 2017 PREP EDITION): POST #2

Hi, everyone!

I’ve been absent from this blog the past week and a half or so, but I promise I’ve done work toward my WiP since then!

 

Since my last post, I’ve…

  • found a score: You have no idea how excited I am about this! I’ve been listening to the New Moon Score by Alexandre Desplat to plot for this novel, and there’s something whimsically dark about it that calls to me for this story. One more thing to check off my list. Yaaaay!

2017-08-09.png

  • started a research document: I’m putting together a document about abuse/tactics of abusers/what have you, so I can default to it while I’m drafting instead of having to look stuff up all the time.
2017-08-09 (1)

Definitely hoping to add more to this.

  • outlined eight chapters: You read that correctly. 🙂 And the best part? It hasn’t been very difficult! I’ll continue to tweak as I go, but I’m so glad to be making progress. The L.S. MS was much harder to outline for.

By the next post, I hope to have accomplished…

  • more outlining: the more, the merrier. Once school starts, this might get harder to do.
    • The sooner finish outlining, the sooner I finalize my playlist, so…yeah. Outlining needs to get done.
  • more researching:
    • Need to fill out that glossary!
    • I also have more books to read. (Like Phantom of the Opera, hello! *rolls eyes at self*)

I’m hoping to at least start pulling this off. Wish me luck!

Have you started prepping for NaNoWriMo this November? How is it going so far?

4 thoughts on “WIP WEDNESDAY (NANOWRIMO 2017 PREP EDITION): POST #2

  1. I’m completely new to NaNoWriMo, and I’ve never finished writing a novel. Part of my problem is that I always jump into my writing without a plan. To prep for NaNoWriMo 2017, I’m brainstorming ideas and focusing on writing an outline. I’ve been reading a lot of forums on the website, and trying to find writing buddies, while also taking advantage of the different resources out there. I’m feeling both nervous and excited for November. I wish you the best of luck with your NaNo journey!

    • Yaaay! Welcome to NaNo! It can seem overwhelming, but once you actually sit down and do it, it’s *incredibly* fun. The key is to pace yourself; if you fall behind on your daily goal, be sure to make it up at some point so you don’t find yourself having to write 10,000 words on the last day. xD

      Word wars/sprints help me a lot; I usually pick the 15-minute ones, and just do several of them back to back. For me, 15 minutes is just long enough to be productive without being so long I lose focus. If I do enough, I can write about 1,000 words in an hour. 🙂

      Thanks so, so much for stopping by! I wish you luck this November as well, and feel free to add me as a writing buddy, if you’d like; I’d love the company. 😉 http://nanowrimo.org/participants/weird-writer-girl

  2. Thanks for the welcome and for the advice! I’ll definitely have to try word sprints to help me get going – sometimes I struggle with sitting down for a period of time and just writing.

    I’ll be sure to add you. 😄

    • Of course!

      I feel like actually sitting down and *writing* a decent amount of words is a lot harder than most people make it seem. It’s so easy to lose focus!

      Usually, I’m always behind my 2,000-word goal until Thanksgiving break, and that’s when I write a TON. So don’t feel too bad if you’re not productive one day; there’s always another day where you can make up for it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

