WiP Wednesday (NaNoWriMo 2017 Prep Edition): Post #1

Hello, all!

It’s been quite a while since I’ve posted anything about my WiP (Work in Progress), as I’m sure you’ve noticed. Between schoolwork/college stuff, extracurricular commitments, traveling, and health issues, I haven’t been setting aside time to work on The L.S. MS, so I figured it was pointless to keep giving you the same update about how I hadn’t written anything this week…yet again.

But fast foward to the present, a month before school starts. School=fall, fall=November, November…

Yep, you guessed it. It’s NaNoWriMo prep season.

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you know that I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo for three years and won every single year. (Add me on the site, BTW! I’d love to make some more friends! 😀 ) However, it’s been harder in recent years for me to allot enough time to write once schoolwork kicks in; the ONLY reason I was able to win last year was through free-writing exercises, and even that was only after I’d decided (halfway through November, BTW), what the heck, why not try it.

But this year, I want to write a novel again–plotted, planned, and Pinterest-ed. Here’s my theory: In order for me to successfully win NaNo this year, I need to be able to just write like a manwoman. In order to do that, my story needs direction. To give it direction, I need time to flesh my story out. If I want that time, I need to start planning now.

So that is (the long-winded version for) why I am starting prep for NaNoWriMo now. Every Wednesday up (and through!) NaNoWriMo, I aim to give you updates on my planning process and word count so you can join along for the ride that will be writing this novel!

Let’s start with a few details about the book I plan to write:

My NaNoWriMo 2017 WiP

  • title: For now, I’ll just stick with calling my WiP “ATU” ; that’s how I’ll refer to it here. 🙂
  • word count goal: Right now, I just want to make it to 50k, but I’m thinking it’ll be anywhere from 60,000-70,000 words long–maybe more, depending on what happens while I’m writing.
  • genre: mostly YA contemporary, but (again!) with a paranormal twist
  • premise: gonna be vague here on purpose, but basically, ATU is an Orthodox Christian Phantom of the Opera retelling, containing some very autobiographical aspects. Things are going down, fam.

 

How I’m Planning

  • outlining: This is obviously the key to writing any successful novel (for me, anyway). I know a lot more about plotting than I did when I started prep for The L.S. MS, so I’m hoping this book will…actually have a plot. That’d be quite nice.
  • researching: There are several aspects of my novel which will involve research (some of which I can’t reveal because of spoilers!), but one very prominent aspect of this novel is abuse. I wanted to see how partner abuse is portrayed in YA literature, so I’m compiling a list of YA books featuring abuse, and I plan on reading all these books before November so I can get a better feel for how to write this relationship. I also need to dive in to some YA paranormal romance, because some of those relationships are seriously dysfunctional.
2017-07-26
Here are the titles I have. If you have any recs, please share them with me!
  • more researching: I need to make a list of the things I need to research so I can actually get around to researching them. Have I used the word “research” enough times for your fancy yet?
  • finding music scores: I’m the type of writer who must write to music in order to be more emotionally invested in my work. So now, I have to find a movie/TV score to listen to while I write this thing. I love James Newton Howard, but I need something just as whimsical and “youthful,” if that makes sense, as it is dark. Basically, I need a score that sounds like something you’d write a young adult dark contemporary romance to. Any recs? (P.S. Actually finding a usable score would be a huge check off my to-do list for this book.)

So there you have it: my writing plans for the next few months. Think I can manage all that prep?

How are you prepping for NaNoWriMo this November? Got any tips?

Leave a Reply

