Catching Up!

Hello, again! Guess who’s still alive?

Yeah, I’m back. Between tons of homework, a phone that’s deleted all its info and still refuses to go back to factory settings so I can finally fix it (-_-), and some health issues, it’s been a wild few months, and I’ve dropped the ball on a lot of things. Unfortunately, running this blog was one of them.

This post is meant to be a hybrid of several different posts, to make up for my inactivity:

  • a Mood and Music Monday update
  • a March/April wrap-up
  • a May TBR

Without further ado, let’s get started.


Song(s) of the week:

I’ve been listening to the soundtrack for Corpse Bride a lot over the past two days–it’s so haunting and atmospheric, and I love the movie so much. (Morbidly enough, I can relate to several of the characters–sometimes rather depressingly so.) The main titles, in particular, have been on repeat, but I’ve been listening to the rest of the soundtrack, too.


March/April Wrap-Up

Here are the books I finished during my hiatus:

Here are the books I DNF’d:

  • Ignite Me (and all the extra novellas in the Shatter Me series) by Tahereh Mafi: Unravel Me was disappointingly dull, and I figured that I didn’t want to force myself to keep reading a series I wasn’t enjoying just so I could say I’d finished it. Too many books, too little time.
  • Gilded Cage by Vic James: I wanted to like this one, but I could barely get through the first two pages before growing bored. So I put it down. (On another note: Someone should write a cool fantasy novel based on Gilded Age America. How cool would that be? I mean, I know English history is kind of cool, but American history is so underused as a setting/inspiration for fantasy/paranormal novels. I’d love to see more of that. [Maybe I’ll write it?])
  • Frostblood by Elly Blake: My interest with this book waned, especially after seeing how similar it is to other titles *cough*Red Queen*cough* in the YA fantasy market right now. (And Red Queen was already a knock-off, so would this be…a knock-off of a knock-off? [A knock-off-off??])

May TBR

Unfortunately, I don’t have a photo of this. My phone basically erased all the pictures I had left for the April book challenge I was participating in, and won’t let me take more pictures, so there might not be book pictures for some time. 😦 But here’s a list of all the books I’m attempting to read:

20658347Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass, #3) by Sarah J. Maas

Found this at the library, and I’m ready to continue the series! Supposedly, this is where things start to go down, so I’m looking forward to this. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

30037861Silver Stars (Front Lines, #2) by Michael Grant

I love WWII, and I enjoyed Front Lines, so I’m excited to have this in my hands. It’s time for some more female soldier action!

 

 

 

 

 

29772863Wires and Nerve, Vol. 1 by Marissa Meyer

I’ve already read the rest of the series, so why not? It’ll be exciting to read a graphic novel; I’ve never picked one up before. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

22892448The Color Project by Sierra Abrams

I received an ARC of this darling book in the mail the other day, and I’m so excited to start it! Sierra is a dear, and this book promises to make my heart very happy, so, of course, I can’t wait to read it. 😀

 

 

 

 


Four books to read this month. It’s definitely less ambitious than I’ve attempted in previous months, and hopefully(?) I’ll have less homework, so I can read all of these this month. I’m eager to get back into the swing of things again!

What about you?

  • How many books will you be reading this month?
  • Which of those books are you most looking forward to reading?
Leave a Reply

