A CROWN OF WISHES (The Star-Touched Queen, #2): Review (ARC)

29939047A Crown of Wishes (The Star-Touched Queen, #2) by Roshani Chokshi
Published by St. Martin’s Griffin on March 28, 2017
Genres: young adult, romance, fantasy, mythology
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback (ARC)
Amazon Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | IndieBound

Rating: ★★★¼


Hmm.

I enjoyed The Star-Touched Queen, although I had my grievances with it. It was tastefully-written and a lovely gateway into an enchanting world. I admired Gauri, and so when I heard she was getting her own book, I got super excited. (Also, a tournament of wishes? Sounds cool, right?)

I liked A Crown of Wishes, but I didn’t love it. Just like its predecessor, something seems missing in this book, and here, that missing X factor is time. We just don’t get enough time with these characters. I wanted more funny banter between Gauri and Vikram, more page time with that vanara (who really could have been a cool, humorous sidekick, if he’d been present for more of the story), more external conflict in the Tournament once Vikram and Gauri arrived.  I finished this book, and I still don’t feel I know the characters as well as I could have.

That being said, I enjoyed both Vikram and Gauri. Both are driven, distinct characters with good heads on their shoulders. Gauri is a warrior, but she’s not heartless. Vikram can’t wield weapons, but he’s cunning. It was a cool balance to read, and a nice twist on the stereotypical fantasy gender roles without being overbearing. I just wanted more on-screen bonding time between our two leads so I could root for their romance more enthusiastically. I’ve always been a slow-burner gal, so maybe that’s part of it, but I did feel like the romance moved too quickly.

The plot in this story is easier to follow than The Star-Touched Queen‘s: Gauri and Vikram compete in certain challenges to win one wish each. Maybe it’s because I hear “tournament” and think “Hunger Games,” but I felt the tournament wasn’t as present in the story as it was set up to be in the blurb. Yes, there are competitors and challenges, but we don’t really see much of the other competitors, and, while there are challenges, most are symbolic. Which is fine, just not filled with much action. Again, fine, but not what I expected.

This review makes it sound like I didn’t enjoy this book, but I did. I enjoyed the characters, and the writing is just as beautiful as always (a memo for anyone who might have been turned off by the writing in TSTQ: the prose is more tempered here). This novel is a story about magic and stories themselves–and about how we hold power over both. And, as both a reader and a storyteller, I found that delightful.

In short: This book was magical, vibrant, and clever–much like a folk tale. It just wasn’t quite a home run for me.

Much thanks to St. Martin’s for the ARC. No compensation of any kind was exchanged for this review.

 

 

 

One thought on “A CROWN OF WISHES (The Star-Touched Queen, #2): Review (ARC)

  1. Akaluv says:

    The first book was written well, but the plot was the hardest thing to follow. Because of that, I doubt I’ll read the second book, but thanks for posting your review =)

Leave a Reply

