THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN (The Star-Touched Queen, #1): Review

25203675The Star-Touched Queen (The Star-Touched Queen, #1) by Roshani Chokshi
Published by St. Martin’s Griffin on April 26, 2016
Genres: young adult, romance, fantasy, mythology
Pages: 342
Format: Hardcover
Amazon Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | IndieBound

Rating: ★★★½ 


I had a hard time making up my mind as to whether or not I would read this book. When I first saw the cover, I thought the answer would be yes. Then I read the blurb and wasn’t sure if it would be my thing.

The answer changed to a probable no when I read a few negative reviews on Goodreads. One trusted reviewer was not a fan of the (in their opinion) overly-flowery prose, which they claimed did not make up for the lack of plot. The quotes this reviewer included in their review sounded more stilted than flowery, so I decided on yeah, no thanks.

But then I saw this book at the library, and my answer changed to just try it.

So, with so much going back and forth on this book, what is my final verdict of The Star-Touched Queen? Well, for one thing, I was pleasantly surprised to find that I enjoyed the writing style. Roshani Chokshi uses very vivid imagery with vibrant, well-chosen words; you can see the sunsets she’s describing; you can taste the food the characters are eating; you can see the magic of this world unravel around you in spools. As a result, I loved the atmosphere of this book.

However, the writing style might not be for everyone, so I’d recommend checking out a sample on Amazon (or another online retail site)  to see if the prose is something you’d enjoy. I liked it, but that doesn’t mean everyone will.

As a result of such vivid prose, you get a lovely little glimpse of Bharata. It genuinely felt like  a real place to me, like maybe, if I traveled far away and hoped hard enough, maybe I’d find it. I enjoyed the whimsical feel; it gave this story a very fairy-tale-like atmosphere.

However, I couldn’t help but wish there were more side characters in the story after Maya leaves for Akaran. Amar is intriguing and mysterious and sweet (and I wanted wayyyy more of him than we got), but part of his mysterious identity means he’s absent in many parts of the story.

This leaves readers to accompany Maya in her explorations of her kingdom, which, while interesting in that it offers a few more clues to exactly what kind of kingdom Maya has inherited through her marriage, is not enough to make the plot move forward on its own. In most of these scenes, Maya is alone, and, while she’s a sensitive and compassionate girl I could easily sympathize with and root for, her musings alone are not enough to keep this plot going. The book loses momentum in its middle, and something else—perhaps another, more present side character—might have prevented my interest from meandering. Anything would have worked to keep me invested in the story.

This wandering about means the twist seemingly comes out of nowhere—and, don’t get me wrong, I was ripping through pages to get to the end because I was so concerned about Amar–which made the conclusion a little unsatisfying. I wanted more–about Amar, about Akaran, about Maya and her past. But, when I finished the book, it didn’t seem like I had very many answers to those questions.

Fantastical world-building, luscious prose, intriguing mythology, and an alluring love interest–this book has them all. But, in many ways, while The Star-Touched Queen enticed me with promises of a sweet, delectable fruit of a story, my desires were not fully satiated.

 

One thought on “THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN (The Star-Touched Queen, #1): Review

Leave a Reply

