March 2017 TBR Pile

It’s a little late for this post, I know. But I’m writing it anyway, because we’re still in March, aren’t we?

Here’s my TBR (TBR = TBRead) for March.


At the beginning of March, this was my TBR:

IMG_7687

Five books. Manageable, right?

Well, the plans have changed since the beginning of this month.


Books I Plan(ned) to Read This Month

27883214Caraval (Caraval, #1) by Stephanie Garber

I was looking forward to reading this book this month after having waited forever for it to come from the library. But I got 150 pages into it before I put it aside. Scarlet was painfully naive, Tella was a brat, and I just wasn’t invested in anything. I was too bored to enjoy what I had read so far, and I figured why keep reading, if I’m not enjoying the read?

 

 

 

 

29939047A Crown of Wishes (The Star-Touched Queen, #2) by Roshani Chokshi

This book comes out this month, and I’m reading it early, because I have an ARC! 😀 So far, I’m enjoying it. Roshani’s descriptions and atmospheric world-building are as luscious and vibrant as always. Gauri and Vikram make quite the team; I’m looking forward to seeing how they write their story in the coming pages. 🙂

 

 

 

 

22297294Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

This book looks really cute, but also heartfelt and meaningful. I don’t normally go for contemporaries, but I’m interested in this one, so hopefully it’ll be good.

 

 

 

 

 

 

13104080Unravel Me (Shatter Me, #2) by Tahereh Mafi

 

I didn’t like Shatter Me as much as I hoped to (the book as a whole felt lacking to me), but I’ve checked out the other two books from the library, so I’ll probably just continue with the series. (Also, the covers are gorgeous.) I just finished this one today, and, ehhh, it was  all right. Still going to read Ignite Me, as well as the novellas (which were also at the library. Maybe someone else was binge-reading?).

 

 

 

13188676Ignite Me (Shatter Me, #3) by Tahereh Mafi

Aaaahhh, this cover is gorgeous. See my blurb for Unravel Me. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


But Plans Change

I ended up snatching a few more books at the library this month, so I hope I’ll be able to read the ones that need to go back ASAP before they’re due.

28818314RoseBlood by A.G. Howard

I was so excited for this novel; I love Phantom of the Opera, and I would love to see more YA retellings of such a fabulous story. This finally came in at the library this month, and I started it almost immediately. But I barely made it to page 50 before quitting. This book was painful for me to read in every way; the prose was boring, the characters were boring–even the plot was boring. (How does one manage to make Phantom boring? Come on!) I kept trying to push myself into continuing and convince myself that I liked it, but, eventually, I stopped lying to myself. Hesitant to pick up Howard’s future books (and, judging by the reviews I’ve read, I wasn’t missing much with that twist).

 

13206760Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles, #2) by Marissa Meyer

Luckiest of lucky finds! I found this at the library, and so I snatched it up.  I just started it today. Hopefully I’ll enjoy it more than Cinder; many reviewers I know who didn’t enjoy that book loved this one.

 

 

 

 

 

13206828Cress (The Lunar Chronicles, #3) by Marissa Meyer

Again, I’m lucky, folks, because this book was sitting right next to Scarlet. It’s long, though, so I’m hoping reading this won’t throw my reading schedule off. :/ Again, hoping I like this more than Cinder.

 

 

 

 

 

22489107Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles, #3.5) by Marissa Meyer

I’ll say it one more time: Lucky. Because guess what else was at the library? 😀

 

 

 

 

 

 

30258320Gilded Cage (Dark Gifts, #1) by Vic James

This finally came in from the library! If I can renew this book, I will; that way I have less on my plate. Otherwise, I’ll try to read it this month. I’m excited. 🙂



27827203Frostblood (
Frostblood Saga, #1) by Elly Blake

Another library request has found its way to me! Just like with Gilded Cage, I hope to renew this one so I don’t have to rush through it, but we’ll see what happens.

 

 

 

 

 


Eleven books is a lot, but I’ve already read one, DNF’d two, and am reading two, so that leaves…six? That doesn’t sound too bad. I’m hoping this is a good reading month for me. 🙂

What about you?

  • How many books will you be reading this month?
  • Which of those books are you most looking forward to reading?
One thought on “March 2017 TBR Pile

  1. Malissa Greenwood says:

    Some of those look good – worth checking out any ways.
    I’m almost done with Daring Greatly and not sure what I’m gonna read next. I’ll stand in front in my TBR pile and choose randomly. Lol

Leave a Reply

