February Wrap-Up

The end of February is already here, and I’m in denial. But it’s the end of the month, which means it’s time for a monthly recap. Without further ado…


As you might recall, this was my TBR for February 2017:

img_7044

My final count for books read this month is five. Out of the books pictured here, I read four and DNF’d six.


Books I Read This Month

20698530P.S. I Still Love You (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, #2) by Jenny Han

I really liked this book. Relationships aren’t perfect–romantic or otherwise–and this book shows that, while still managing to make me smile. I’m looking forward to book three. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

11235712Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1) by Marissa Meyer

Unpopular opinion time: I thought this was just okay. Imaginative, but not as cool as everyone made it out to be. I’ll continue the series, but I’m a little disappointed.

 

 

 

 

 

10429045Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1) by Tahereh Mafi

 

Eh. The only thing remarkable about this was the writing style, and it was nice, but not Book Thief nice. However, Adam is a character with a lot of potential, and Juliette is a character I definitely sympathize with and root for. Warner is a melodramatic creep, but I have the next two books, so I’ll probably read on. (And yes, I know how the series ends.

 

 

 

 

26114463Nevernight (The Nevernight Chronicle, #1) by Jay Kristoff

This book took forever to read, but I very much enjoyed it! Vivid, imaginative world-building, fun characters, and an enchanting writing style have me looking forward to book two. 🙂

 

 

 

24763621Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

This came in at the library after I’d formed my TBR, but I picked it up anyway, only to be disappointed. I wanted to enjoy this book so much, but it fell very flat for me; the world-building and character and plot development were underwhelming.

 

 

 

 

 


Books I DNF’d This Month

248704It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

It just wasn’t interesting me. The main character was too quirky for me to connect with him.

 

 

 

 

 

 

1379696Looking for Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta

I don’t know; this one was just boring. I put it down shortly after starting it. :/

 

 

 

 

 

 

23848113The Weight of Feathers by Anna Marie McLemore

After getting a little past…50 pages, I think?…I was still not invested in this book, so I put it down.

 

 

 

 

 

 

26116425This Is My Brain on Boys by Sarah Strohmeyer

The protagonist’s quirkiness was endearing at first, but it quickly became overbearing and frustrating to read about. I didn’t really care about what was going on in the book, so I set it aside.

 

 

 

 

 

27414397Blood Red, Snow White by Marcus Sedgwick

The writing style in this book was not for me, and I’m just not interested in reading it anymore, to be honest.

20958632The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

This was possibly my greatest disappointment this month. I quit just 100 pages from the end, hoping that I would enjoy it, but eventually realizing that there was no point in finishing if I was bored and didn’t care about what I was reading.

 

 

 

 

 

Maybe these books are good–maybe you’ll like them. But I couldn’t get invested in them, and life’s too short to spend it reading books you don’t enjoy. (Unless you’re doing it for class, of course.)


Overall, I’m a little discouraged about the fact that I DNF’d half the books I’d planned to read this month, but I think I made the right decision. Maybe March will be better.

Leave a Reply

