February 2017 TBR Pile

Welcome to February, friends!

Since I did a wrap-up for January, it only makes sense to show you what I’ll be reading in February. I’m going to try and post a TBR (TBR = TBRead) update at the beginning of each month, so you’ll know what I’m reading. 🙂

Here we go!


I’m a little ambitious this month:

img_7044

So I want to read ten books this month, and I’m hoping it’ll happen. In addition to schoolwork, I have library deadlines I have to deal with; some of these can’t be renewed, but I’ve been wanting to read them for forever, so I’ll just have to roll with it, I guess.


Books I Plan to Read This Month


20698530P.S. I Still Love You (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, #2)
by Jenny Han

I really enjoyed To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, and I checked out this book around the same time I checked out that one, so I look forward to catching up with Laura Jean and her family! I’m 100 pages in, and enjoying it so far. 🙂


248704It’s Kind of a Funny Story
by Ned Vizzini

I’m always interested in books that discuss mental illness and how it affects teens, and I’ve heard this book does that well. I look forward to reading it and finding out for myself.

1379696Looking for Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta

Though Jellicoe Road was disappointing, I loved Marchetta’s Finnikin of the Rock, so I’m going to try another contemporary of hers and see if I like it.

11235712Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1) by Marissa Meyer

I have been meaning to read this book for YEARS, so when I saw it at the library, I snatched it right up! This will be my first book for the #BeatTheBacklist Challenge, and I’m super excited!

23848113The Weight of Feathers by Anna Marie McLemore

I’m always down for some magical realism–especially if that magical realism contains carnival/circus/performing arts aspects. Plus, I believe Sabaa Tahir recommended this, and she’s one of my favorite authors, so I’m giving it a go.

26116425This Is My Brain on Boys by Sarah Strohmeyer

This one just looks plain fun. I love the cover and the premise (a girl tries to come up with a formula for love to get a Harvard scholarship). It sounds cute and endearing, and I’m hoping it’ll give me the warm fuzzies.

10429045Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1) by Tahereh Mafi

This is another book I’ve had my eye on for a while, and when I found the other two books in the series at the library, I requested this one so I can hopefully binge read the entire series. I’ve heard mixed reviews about the prose, but I want to form my own opinion on it first. I hope I enjoy it!

27414397Blood Red, Snow White by Marcus Sedgwick

Gah, the cover for this is gorgeous. I don’t typically read historical fiction, but the Bolshevik Revolution? Yes, please. We don’t get enough of Russia in YA, and I hope this delivers.


20958632The Darkest Part of the Forest
by Holly Black

I loved Black’s The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, I’m researching faeries/fae for a story idea, and I’m always looking for YA faerie books to love. For all these reasons, I’ve wanted to read this book. And I finally found it at my library. One of my most anticipated reads on this list.

26114463Nevernight (The Nevernight Chronicle, #1) by Jay Kristoff

I loved the Illuminae series (which Kristoff co-authored), and I’ve heard so much praise for this book, so I’m giving it a go! Another highly-anticipated read for this month.


Ten books is ambitious, but I’m excited for the (hopefully) good reads this month will bring! See any of your favorites here?

What about you?

  • How many books will you be reading this month?
  • Which of those books are you most looking forward to reading?
2 thoughts on “February 2017 TBR Pile

Leave a Reply

