Book Haul: January 2017

Hello, my friends! Happy weekend!

So I know we’re not quite to the end of the month, but I’ve bought a lot of books this month (most from used bookstores), so I thought I’d share my purchases with you now (because I’ll probably be on book ban after this, heheheh).

My hope is to do a book haul each month (if I get books that month, of course). I’ll do unhauls, too, if I decide to ditch a book.

 

img_6990

Aaaaand the lighting for this was much better on my phone. Oops.


19062Getting the Girl (Wolfe Brothers, #3) by Markus Zusak

I’ve read and loved The Book Thief and I Am the Messenger, so when I found this book on the shelf at my used bookstore, I had to pick it up. I didn’t know it was the last in the series, but I still plan on reading the series anyway. 🙂

 

 

 

 

7937462THE SHORT SECOND LIFE OF BREE TANNER (THE TWILIGHT SAGA, #3.5) BY STEPHENIE MEYER

This was the only book I actually enjoyed in the Twilight Saga, so when I found it in decent condition for one dollar at the bookstore, I snatched it up. Can’t pass up a deal like that. 🙂

 

 

21853636All the Rage by Courtney Summers

This book has garnered a lot of praise, and it was in good condition, so I picked it up. I just recently read another book dealing with rape (The Female of the Species) and very much enjoyed it, so I am hoping this novel will be an enlightening–and brutally honest–look at rape culture and how it impacts rape victims. I hope it is a book of courage and strength.

 

 

 

 

7766027I Hunt Killers (Jasper Dent #1) by Barry Lyga

This premise sounds so, so interesting and creepy. I’m not usually one who reads crime/mystery novels (Sherlock Holmes being an exception, of course), but my reading friends have really enjoyed this one, and, again, it sounds so good, so I’m looking forward to it.

 

 

 

 

 

15790833Game (Jasper Dent #2) by Barry Lyga

The sequel was also there, so I bought it, too. (Also, it’s in hardcover, so it has these red bloodstains on the actual naked cover of the book. I’m pretty sure those bloodstains were 80% responsible for me buying this book.)

 

 

 

 

 
22055262A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic, #1)
 by V.E. Schwab

 

This was probably my best find; it’s probably the last book I’d expect to be at a used bookstore, but it was just waiting for me on the shelves. I really enjoyed This Savage Song, and this series has received a lot of praise, too, so I’d like to check it out and see what all the hype is about. It was in good condition, too, which is a plus.

 

 

 

20764879A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic, #2) by V.E. Schwab

Would you believe it? I found this book, too! It made me super happy. ^_^

 

 

 

 

 

 

14546838FINNIKIN OF THE ROCK (LUMATERE CHRONICLES, #1) BY MELINA MARCHETTA

Found this in paperback, so I bought it, even though I already own hardcover. (Don’t judge me; it’s one of my favorites.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

30233110Carve the Mark (Untitled, #1) by Veronica Roth

I preordered this, and it came! And let me tell you, it’s just as beautiful in person as the photos online make it seem; the cover is so, so shiny and gorgeous and shiny. (Did I mention it was shiny?) I have some library books to go through first, but I plan to read this soon! (I’m almost scared to, though, I worry if I touch this book too much, I’ll damage the perfect cover somehow. 0_0)

 

 

 

1656001The Host (The Host #1) by Stephenie Meyer

I’ve had my eyes on this book for a while (heheheh), so when I found it for, again, one dollar at the bookstore, I didn’t even hesitate. This behemoth normally sells for $25, I think, and I got it in good condition for one. Dollar. I feel so accomplished, haha.

 

 

 

 

 


So, all in all, that makes for a haul of 10 books this month. (That’s a lot for me; I blame Bookstagram and BookTube for subconsciously teaching me it’s okay to binge buy and then never read :/.)  I definitely won’t be buying books in February *knocks on wood*, but I am happy with the purchases I made. 🙂

What about you? Did you buy any books this month? How many? Which ones?

Leave a Reply

