WiP Marathon #6: January 2017

It’s that time of the month again–WiP Marathon time! I present to you: the first 2017 update! Check it out below. 🙂


Last report word count + chapter count/scene count:

95, 829 words, 26 chapters.

Current report WC + CC/ SC: 

The same, honestly, I haven’t written anything new since this update, so no new scenes. Beta reading has been my priority.

WiP Issues This Month:

Prioritizing. Because I decided to take on beta reading as a hobby, I haven’t had time to focus on my own work. I want to find ways to progress in the revision process, but, since a lot of it is just staring at my outline and moving scenes around/brainstorming, it takes time–time I don’t ever seem to have.

What I learned this month in writing: 

I haven’t written at all this month, but I’ve read a lot of other people’s writing, and if I’ve learned one thing, it’s this: Keep a leash on your prose. Don’t let it get out of control.

Also, make sure your premise (your promise to the reader) is the same as the actual plot of your book. And make that plot exciting, whatever it is.

What distracted me this month while writing: 

Beta reading, although I wouldn’t call it a distraction so much as a voluntary choice. I chose to beta, and beta-ing involves deadlines–deadlines I need to keep up with. I chose that over my own novel.

Goal for next month

Finishing the revised outline completely. Then, from there, I can start rearranging scenes/working further on plot, and things should get a lot smoother. (Famous last words, heheh.)

Leave a Reply

