Music & Some Resolutions (Mood & Music Monday: 1/2/17)

Happy New Year, everyone! Welcome this week’s Mood and Music Monday! Because it’s a new year, I’ll be posting about what I’m listening to, but I’ll also be sharing some of my New Year’s resolutions for this blog. 🙂

Here’s the update for this week:

SONG(S) OF THE WEEK

What are you listening to? Today, Perlo’s “Where You Left Me” is on repeat. Perlo is a duo effort consisting of solo artists Henri Bardot and Mree. If you know me, you know I’ve been a fan of the latter for some time, and her YouTube channel brought me to Perlo. The group only has two songs up on its YouTube channel, but I want more!

What are you reading? I finished I Am the Messenger, which I really enjoyed, and I finished A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. Currently reading To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, and it’s all right. I’m hoping I’ll get into it more soon.


SOME BLOG RESOLUTIONS

I’m very happy with how much this blog grew and transformed in 2016, and I’m hoping it will only continue to grow. I have some goals for this blog–and for myself–that I’m hoping to realize in 2017.

  1. Post more reviews. I write reviews, but I want to write more. So I’m going to pick another day of the week and aim to start writing reviews on that new day, as well. This means there should be three new reviews a week. 🙂
  2. Get farther in the revision process/start sharing my work with betas. By the end of 2017, I’m hoping to start querying The L.S. M.S. It’s something I’m excited about, but I have to do the work in order to get there. This means editing and revisions and all that other not-so-fun stuff. I have to make more time for those things this year, so that’s my goal.
  3. Vary my post content. I’ve got a nice little rhythm going on this blog, but I’d like to shake things up a little. Every so often, I’d like to post writing tutorials, so to speak, where I discuss how to write certain scenarios/interactions/events realistically in YA. (It’ll make more sense when I actually write the posts, haha.) I want to talk more about writing and editing on a more general level on this blog, and I want this to be the year that happens.
  4. Finally read all the books on my shelves. I’ve picked up a bad habit of buying books, but not reading them in favor of reading library books. Therefore, starting in February, I’m going to try and read at least one book off my shelves in addition to all the library books/new releases I read each month. I’ve joined the Beat the Backlist 2017 challenge, and made a Goodreads shelf listing all the books I plan to read for said challenge.

Wish me luck, guys! I think these are all achievable goals, so I’m hoping I’ll be able to make them. 🙂

What goals do you have for 2017?

 

 

Leave a Reply

