WiP Marathon #5 (2016 Recap Version): December 2016

It’s that time of the month again, and, as the year comes to a close, it’s time to reflect on my yearly progress with my WiP (The L.S. M.S., now that NaNoWriMo is over). So, here we go: this is the WiP Marathon–2016 edition.


Last report word count + chapter count/scene count:

Last time, I wasn’t sure about chapter count, but my word count was 98,040.

Current report WC + CC/ SC: 

After making an outline, I now have an exact chapter count: 26 chapters. 🙂 Word count is 95, 829. (Huh. Looks like I edited more than I thought.)

WiP Issues This Year:

Finding time and motivation. Between schoolwork and other life events, sometimes I struggle to see the point in continuing work on my manuscript. I see only its flaws, and when I start comparing it to other books, I get even more discouraged. This makes me lose motivation to make it better, because I’m worried I can never make it better.

What I learned this year in writing: 

Revising is hard, man. It’s a lot more time- and effort-intensive than some might have you believe. And reading is just as important as writing–I’d go so far to say it’s crucial to improving your writing capabilities. I’ve been reading a ton this year, and I firmly believe it’s helped me make better edits.

What distracted me this year while writing: 

School, mainly. I also struggle with anxiety and depression, which can hinder my productivity. Sometimes, when I’d have a ton of time to work on writing, I would have a panic attack or a breakdown instead (not voluntarily, of course), which meant I lost that spare time.

Goal for next/this coming year: 

I want to start querying The L.S. M.S., but, to do that, I need to finish edits. One foot in front of the other, I guess. Just like life. And, also like life, I just need to stick with it.

Leave a Reply

