REAWAKENED (Reawakened, #1): Review

17331819Reawakened (Reawakened, #1) by Colleen Houck
Published by Delacorte Press on August 11, 2015
Genres: young adult fantasy, paranormal romance, urban fantasy, mythology
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover
Amazon Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | IndieBound

Rating: ★★★★½  


A lot of people I know didn’t enjoy this book, but what can I say? I loved it.

I grew up with Night at the Museum and The Mummy (the Brendan Fraser version). In some strange, nostalgic way, I feel like this book is the YA version of a combination of those two. It’s captivating and lots of fun.

Did I mention it was funny? I couldn’t stop laughing, you guys. Between Amon’s adorable, naive misadventures through modern-day NYC and Ahmose’s banter with…pretty much everyone, I was giggling constantly. I love it when a book can make me laugh, and this book did so often.

That said, it’s not perfect. The plot meandered a little throughout the book, there are several obvious tropes, and the prose could use some work. But this book’s spirit, its charisma–its aura, if you will–makes up for all of that through two things: the humor, and Amon.

I’ve already covered the humor, so let’s talk about Amon. He’s one of three guardians who rises from the grave every millennium to keep the forces of evil at bay. And he’s super stinkin’ adorable.

I’m not talking about in looks, though Lily does describe him as handsome. He’s just…so sweet and so innocent, and it’s really, really cute to read. Lily’s full name is Lilliana Young, and Amon calls her “Young Lily.” He calls the taxis in NYC “golden chariots.” Lily tells Amon that, in NYC, they have “a little bit of everything.”

Amon’s response?

“Excellent. Take me, then, to a little bit of everything.”

😀 He’s just adorable, you guys, and my examples don’t do him justice. To top it all off, he’s very respectful of Lily, and a real gentleman (I mean, as much as a mummy is able to be). He not only sees her worth, but affirms it, helping her discover herself in the progress.

The romance was really slow-burn (which almost KILLED ME), but it was also really sweet and self-sacrificing, which was just…ahhhh…adorable. (I know I keep using that word, but bear with me, guys. I can’t think of any other adjectives that adequately convey my warm, fuzzy feelings toward this book.) I can’t wait to see where the romance between Amon and Lily goes next. (And, judging by that ending, it’s not going somewhere good. STOP MESSING WITH MY SHIPS, AUTHORS. GOSHDARNIT.)

Overall: I was very pleasantly surprised by this book, and I want more! Check it out if reading about Egyptian princes trying to figure out how to drink soda sounds interesting to you and you’re interested in Egyptian mythology. Recreated, I’m coming for you!

Leave a Reply

