INTERVIEW WITH THE VAMPIRE: Review (DNF)

font-b-interview-b-font-with-the-vampire-anne-rice-book-cover-locket-necklace-keyringInterview with the Vampire (The Vampire Chronicles, #1) by Anne Rice
Published by Alfred A. Knopf in November of 1992 (first published April 12, 1976)
Genres: adult, urban fantasy, historical fiction, supernatural, paranormal
Pages: 274
Format: Hardcover
Amazon Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | IndieBound

Rating: DNF at 51%


Drat.

I’ve been looking forward to this book for so long, you guys. Not only does it sound interesting, but I thought it would be excellent research for my own vampire novel. It’s been hailed as a vampire classic and a pioneer in its subgenre, one of the first to depict vampires as more compassionate creatures (as having more of a “soul,” if you will). (Also, Tom Cruise, Brad Pitt, and Kirsten Dunst. Need I say more?)

Unfortunately, I’m just not as invested as I hoped I’d be. Louis is melodramatic, Claudia is a whiner, and Lestat is just flat. If I were still early into the book, I might push through it, but I figure that, if I’m not invested in anything right now–halfway into the book–why would that change anytime soon?

Not to mention that the writing style is a little too dense for me. I commend Anne Rice for  making Louis sound authentic (he’s from the 18th century), but it definitely makes this book a slower read. And I’m afraid I have neither the time nor the patience to get through it, especially if I’m not connecting with any of the characters.

Maybe I’ll come back to this, when I have time to read it (and it’s not due at the library in two days). But, right now, it’s just not for me.

Leave a Reply

