WORLD AFTER (Penryn and the End of Days, #2): Review

18071466World After (Penryn and the End of Days, #2) by Susan Ee
Published by Skyscape on November 19, 2013
Genres: young adult paranormal, urban fantasy, romance, post-apocalyptic
Pages: 314
Format: Paperback
Amazon Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | IndieBound

Rating: ★★★★★


After looking at reviews, I was nervous that I wouldn’t like World After. I had finally picked up its predecessor, Angelfall, and loved it more than I had expected to. It was just the right mix of action and character development, in my opinion. Finally, an author had given us a teenage girl who could kick butt–because she had trained toward it, not only because she was skilled at it–but also could be a, you guessed it, teenage girl.

However, Penryn never moped long enough to let her focus waver from saving her sister or protecting her family (and she didn’t turn into a pile of mush when it came to Raffe). These were things I appreciated, because it meant I could relate to a main character who was willing and able to get things done.

But, anyway, on to World After. I’ll just paste in the Goodreads synopsis:

When a group of people capture Penryn’s sister Paige, thinking she’s a monster, the situation ends in a massacre. Paige disappears. Humans are terrified. Mom is heartbroken.

Penryn drives through the streets of San Francisco looking for Paige. Why are the streets so empty? Where is everybody? Her search leads her into the heart of the angels’ secret plans where she catches a glimpse of their motivations, and learns the horrifying extent to which the angels are willing to go.

Meanwhile, Raffe hunts for his wings. Without them, he can’t rejoin the angels, can’t take his rightful place as one of their leaders. When faced with recapturing his wings or helping Penryn survive, which will he choose?

One of the reasons why I was worried I wouldn’t like this is because the premise sounds almost exactly like Angelfall‘s, and I knew I didn’t want to read a repeat of the previous book’s events. But, from what I gathered, the main reason why other people didn’t like this book has to do with the fact that there’s less action in it.

In terms of fistfights and things exploding, yes, there is less going on, but that doesn’t mean that the tension lets up. Instead of repeating Angelfall‘s events, Ee builds on them, delving deeper into what, exactly, the angels were up to. That clever lady created enough suspense to keep me flipping pages faster than a chef at IHOP flips pancakes. And, just like I love pancakes, I loved this book.

JPG

You know, for all his twisted ways, Mr. Royalton was right about one thing: Pancakes ARE love.

In World After, Penryn tries not only to help find her sister, but to help save the other humans. To do this, she has to find out exactly what the other angels are up to, which means going to the New Aerie and facing those bug monsters again. Let’s just say that she handled the situation way better than I would have, especially in the insect department. *shivers* Penryn is forced to make difficult decisions and sacrifices not only to survive, but to protect everyone she loves. She makes some mistakes along the way, but, all in all, she has a good on her shoulders, a character trait that seems to be a rare find in today’s YA literature.

I would say this whole book is, actually. It’s not every day you find a book that contains angels, demons, headstrong females, mutant children, good writing, and really creepy bug men.

And I love it.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book for free through Goodreads First Reads, and I’m so grateful that I did. This book is one of my favorites, and now I get to have it readily available on my shelf. ^-^

Leave a Reply

