Mood and Music Monday: 9/12/16

Hello, everybody! Welcome to this week’s Mood and Music Monday!

Mood and Music Monday is a weekly meme I’ve started, wherein I’ll post a song and talk about how it relates to my day/week, as well as a few other things. (And, in case anyone’s wondering, this meme has no relation to Lauren’s [from Always Me] “Music Mondays.”) Feel free to participate and to leave a link to your posts down in the comments!

Here’s the update for this week:

SONG(S) OF THE WEEK

What are you listening to? The band Bastille released their sophomore album, Wild World, this week, so I’ve been listening to that. While initially I was a little unsure of whether or not I liked what I was hearing, I think it’s starting to grow on me. My favorite of what I’ve heard is “Blame.” It’s dark, but it has such an electrifying sound. I’ve listened to it practically all day. 🙂 “Send Them Off!” is pretty fun to dance to,  as are “An Act of Kindness”, “Lethargy,” and “Winter of Our Youth.” (This lyric from that particular song resonates with me, for some reason: “I’m peddling backwards, even if I’m peddling alone.” I really like it.)

I’ve also been listening to other artists; Sia released an amazing new song called “The Greatest,” and that’s been playing on a loop, too. I love how all her songs motivate me to do something epic, like back-flip through a burning hoop or dance on a tightrope or maybe do my homework. Definitely a good artist to listen to during workouts. 🙂

One last song I’ve been listening to: “Breezeblocks” by Alt-J. It sounds really…weird and happy and comforting all at the same time, even though its lyrics are really morbid. I don’t know; I’m really surprized I like it. Normally, I don’t like that type of sound, but here, it works, I guess.

What are you reading? I finished Throne of Glass, and I’m working through Recreated by Colleen Houck, which I want to finish by the end of the week.

What are you drinking? Kombucha and water. Nothing new this week.

Any goals for this week?  Write more reviews! I want to try and stay as active on here as I was during summer, but that’s easier said than done.

How about you?

  • What song(s) are you listening to today?
  • What is your current read? Are you enjoying it?
  • Do you have any plans or goals for this week?
Leave a Reply

