WIP MARATHON #2: AUGUST 2016

Posting this a day late because school has taken over my life, and I wasn’t able to get to it yesterday. (And I forgot to do this in July; I accidentally did a WiP Wednesday post instead.) But here it is! 🙂


Last report word count + chapter count/scene count:

According to my last WiP Marathon post, the word count was 99, 492 words, and there were 30 chapters total.

Current report WC + CC/ SC: 

Current word count is 98, 131 words, and I’m not sure about the current chapter count. I’ve deleted and renumbered a few, but haven’t gone back to check them all yet. So I’d say anywhere from 26-30 chapters.

WiP Issues This Month:

Still the same issues as the issues from last time: plot, raising the stakes, developing my characters, and actually making my readers care. I read a novel recently that really bored me because I wasn’t invested in the book at all. I couldn’t connect with the characters or their struggles, even though things were happening and the plot was there, so I’m trying to work on hooking my readers emotionally.

What I learned this month in writing: 

Your novel will only improve if you actually take the time to work on it. And I didn’t this past month, so it’s stuck where it’s at developmentally until I can find time to work it again.

What distracted me this month while writing: 

I read a ton this month. (Like, 15 books, you guys.) And that meant I prioritized reading over writing. I think it will help me become a better writer if I read regularly, but hopefully I won’t have to choose between the two now that school’s in session.

Goal for next month: 

Reworking character dynamics, chapters, and certain major scenes which contribute heavily to the plot. Hopefully homework will let me be long enough to do this on a semi-regular basis; it shouldn’t be too hard, but it definitely takes time.

One thought on “WIP MARATHON #2: AUGUST 2016

  1. Pingback: WiP MARATHON #3: SEPTEMBER 2016 – Books, Tea, & Insanity

Leave a Reply

