SOUNDLESS: Review (DNF)


24751478Soundless 
by Richelle Mead
Published by Razorbill on November 10, 2015
Genres: young adult, fantasy, mythology, romance
Pages: 266
Format: Hardcover
Amazon Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | IndieBound

Rating: DNF at 60%


It’s a shame, because I liked Vampire Academy, and this book looked so, so cool. But the other reviewers were right, even though I didn’t want to believe them; this book is stale and lacks oomph. Lacks personality. Lacks anything that would make it gripping, unique, and exciting. (Kind of like Fei, our main character, herself.)

I couldn’t connect with any of the characters; they were never living, tangible people, instead mere likenesses of people, if that makes sense. Fei, while she had real feelings, fears, and desires, never felt alive to me.

And the plot just sort of flounders; when I finished reading, Fei and Li Wei had only just made it down the mountain and to the city below. Over halfway through the novel, and the only big thing they’ve done thus far is make it to the city. Which, plot-wise, is logical, but such slow progress isn’t enough to keep my attention. I needed something more immediate, more urgent to keep me invested. At this point, the only thing that was keeping me reading was curiosity about why Fei’s people were going blind, why less food was coming up the mountain, and why the people in the towns treated Fei and Li Wei as though they were diseased, almost.

In someone else’s review, I ended up finding the answer to my first question, and it was enough of a let-down to make me question whether or not this book would deliver in its answers to the other two questions I had. That was the final straw, because there are other books I need to read, and not a lot of time. This book had 160 of 266 pages to grab me, and it didn’t. Which is a shame, because I desperately wanted it to.

I will continue with the Vampire Academy series, but I’m going to be wary of her other books in the future and read the reviews thoroughly first.

2 thoughts on “SOUNDLESS: Review (DNF)

    • Yeah, so am I. But there are always other books that will be better, hopefully. Richelle Mead can definitely write, but I think she can do better than this, and I look forward to reading more of her work in the future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

