SHIP BREAKER (Ship Breaker, #1): Review

7095831Ship Breaker (Ship Breaker, #1)  by Paolo Bacigalupi
Published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers on May 1, 2010
Genres: young adult, post-apocalyptic, science fiction
Pages: 326
Format: Hardcover
Amazon Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | IndieBound

Rating: ★★★


Though this book hasn’t been as popular as its fellow novels in the post-apocalyptic genre, I’ve heard many of my trusted reviewer friends praise its vivid world-building, something many said fellow novels seem to lack.

Most of these reviewers gave this book four or five stars, and I hoped I would be able to, as well. But, unfortunately, I can’t.

Because, though my friends were right about the world-building, I fail to see anything else remarkable about this novel.

It’s not that Ship Breaker isn’t original or unique. It is. But it’s not memorable in that its characters never felt real, the plot only really appeared at the last third of the book, and the writing was fine, but nothing commendable.

I really wish I would have liked it more. The world Bacigalupi paints here is so real and easy to immerse yourself in. He creates a very tangible world and atmosphere in this novel, and this is, in my opinion, the strongest point of this novel. It was fascinating, and I wanted more of it.

However, I found myself wanting more of everything else, too, in that the other aspects of this novel–characters, plot, and the like–were lacking for me. If you’d like a novel that’ll show you some great world-building (and, authors, how to world-build correctly), pick this up, but don’t expect much else from it. Won’t be continuing the series.

Leave a Reply

