SUCH SWEET SORROW: Review (DNF)

18050009Such Sweet Sorrow by Jenny Trout
Published by Entangled: Teen on February 4, 2014
Genres: young adult, fantasy, retellings, paranormal, romance
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback
Amazon Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | IndieBound

Rating: DNF at 50%


Note: I still haven’t really figured out whether or not I’m going to dish out ratings to books I don’t finish. I do know, however, that I’ll only write a review for a DNF book if I make it at least halfway through. 

I’ve kept up with Jenny and her escapades on and off via her website, but I’ve never read any of her work. So when I heard she was writing a YA novel, I got excited. I checked this out at the library as soon as I saw it on the shelf to initiate myself to her writing and storytelling skills.

I made it pretty much halfway through this book, only to realize I wasn’t enjoying the story or the characters. In fact, I was bored. But I’m pretty certain that’s more my fault than it is hers.

Jenny Trout can write. I picked up this book for the sole reason of figuring out whether or not I could come to this conclusion. But it hit me that I didn’t need to read a book of hers to figure this out when I could just look at her blog.

I checked it out because I liked the author, not because I was interested in the premise. I checked out this novel to see whether or not Jenny’s writing was good. (It sounds a little silly and awkward, I know, but you can like an author without liking their work and vice versa.) I read it to see how well she could write, not because I was actually interested in the story. And I think that’s one of the reasons why I got bored in it.

So, maybe if she writes another YA book sometime, I’ll pick it up. And perhaps, if I didn’t have, like, twelve other books checked out from the library right now in addition to this one, I’d give it more time. Perhaps, in another scenario, I would like this more.

But this is not that scenario, and that’s okay.

 

Leave a Reply

