WiP Wednesday: 7/6/16

Hello, and welcome to this week’s #WiPWednesday post! #WiPWednesday is a weekly meme started by Brigid Gorry-Hines from Wordfare. Every Wednesday, I’m supposed to post an update about my WiP (Work in Progress), including word count and where I’m at in writing/revising it. Hopefully, doing this meme will keep me motivated to continue working on my WiP.

So let’s get started! I’ll try to fill out these categories as best as I can.

WIP:  The L.S. M.S.

Writing or Revising? 

Still revising. :/ (Writing is a lot more fun than revising, IMO.)

Current Word Count: 99, 487

A little less than it was since the last check-in.

How It’s Going:

IMG_2827

As far as the jobs go, I’m crossing out the ones I know I won’t need to simplify things. (Vampires can’t eat/drink normal food, so that automatically makes things easier.)

I’m trying to focus more on the worldbuilding and the plot right now, so I’ve printed out a few worldbuilding worksheets and outlines of things I need to fix. I’ve also made a list of a plot skeleton and where certain things should happen in the book as a guideline for how to patch up the plot.

I’m worried the plot is something I can’t save, but I don’t know how rational of a fear that is. My plan is to write a blurb for my story as if it were a book on the shelf so I can figure out what the basis of my story originally was, and just go from there. I’ll change it if the story needs to be changed, but I have a feeling going back to the roots could help in this case.

I’m trying to stay optimistic, and hoping it’s just a phase I’ll get over soon. This is the farthest into the drafting process I’ve ever gotten with any of my stories before, and, while it’s a huge accomplishment, it means I’m new to all of this, and it’s a little overwhelming. There’s so much to fix, and I’m just hoping I love the story enough to stick with it.

Unfortunately, as far as improving both plot and worldbuilding goes, the rest is pretty much brainstorming, which means I actually have to think things through logically. These problems can’t just be addressed simply with Yes/No questions. I is just not happening right now. :/ I’m going to try my best to do so, though. Maybe reading some more will help me get some ideas and give me some examples, although I’ve been reading a lot more than I’ve been writing lately.

FullSizeRender

Aaaannnnd this is what cutting scenes looks like. I have placed the mark of death on several pages, and there is no going back.

I’ve also cut a few scenes in favor of replacing them with the new ones I wrote. I don’t know why, but doing so makes me feel better.

Now I have to figure out which new scenes will go where, which is harder than it sounds. I might have to cut a few of the new scenes, too, once I figure out whether or not they’re relevant to the plot. (But I won’t know if they are for sure until I’ve figured out what the plot is. AGGGHHH.)

Goal for Next Week:  

I’ve finished typing up chapter summaries, so my new goal is to fix those plot and worldbuilding issues (especially the former, so I can start cutting scenes). I’m hoping it won’t take me too long to get there.

One thought on “WiP Wednesday: 7/6/16

Leave a Reply

