Mood & Music Monday: 7/4/16 (Fourth of July Special Edition)

Happy Fourth of July, everybody! Welcome to this week’s Mood and Music Monday!

Mood and Music Monday is a weekly meme I’ve started, wherein I’ll post a song and talk about how it relates to my day/week, as well as a few other things. (And, in case anyone’s wondering, this meme has no relation to Lauren’s [from Always Me] “Music Mondays.”) Feel free to participate and to leave a link to your posts down in the comments!

Because today is a national holiday, this post will be a little different from the M&MMs I’ve done in the past. Instead of just featuring what song I have been/will be listening to this week, I’m also going to tell you what song I’ll be listening to today, specifically.

SONG(S) OF THE DAY

What are you listening to? Because it’s the Fourth of July, while everyone and their (hot) dog is going to be listening to “Hamilton,” I’ll been listening to the soundtrack of the musical “1776.” It’s an oldie, but it’s one of my favorites.

96bbe6874a5376c9610ad37c364d5b17

John Adams, colonial sass-master

My whole family is going to watch it later today, and I’ll be joining them. 🙂 My father used to be a U.S. History & Constitution teacher, so it’s one of his favorites, as well, given that it’s pretty historically accurate (especially when they call attention to the fact that we actually voted for independence from Britain on July 2, and not a lot actually happened on July 4 except for signing the Declaration). The songs are catchy, the acting is fantastic, and John Adams’s sass KILLS me. I love all the characters, with their powdered wigs and their frilly outfits. 😀

 

SONG(S) OF THE WEEK

What are you listening to? This week, I’ve been listening to a lot of songs by Of Monsters of Men, especially from their newest album Beneath the Skin. “Thousand Eyes” and “Slow Life” are on repeat a lot, as well as “Six Weeks” from their first album. It’s the perfect mix of dramatic and whimsical for my tastes. Some of their songs are upbeat and cheery sounding, others are dark, intense, and brooding, while still others are quiet and heartbreaking. I’m planning on buying the album soon. 🙂

What are you reading? Currently, I’m reading a novel called Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi. I’m about halfway through, and while it’s okay so far, I’m not loving it as much as I’d hoped. I’m also doing some beta reading for a friend (my first time!). Her novel is a YA contemporary. I’m really enjoying it so far. 🙂

What are you drinking? KeVita, because it’s a special day.

Any goals for this week?  Knocking out my July TBR (To Be Read) Pile, working on my book, and beta reading. Definitely looks to be a busy week.

How about you?

  • What song(s) are you listening to today?
  • What is your current read? Are you enjoying it?
  • Do you have any plans or goals for this week?
3 thoughts on “Mood & Music Monday: 7/4/16 (Fourth of July Special Edition)

  1. I love the musical 1776! The “Lee” song is my favorite where the one guy keeps responding with words that end in -ly (it’s been a while since I’ve seen it). I’ve also vaguely heard of Of Monsters and Men and they seem really good! Have you heard Weekend Wars by MGMT?

Leave a Reply

