WiP Marathon #1: June 2016

Last report word count + chapter count/scene count:

Not applicable for this meme, but, according to my last WiP Wednesday post, the word count was 97, 986. There were 30 chapters total.

Current report WC + CC/ SC: 

Current word count is 99, 492 words (woohoo! It went up!), and current chapter count is 30 chapters.

WiP Issues This Month:

I really need to rewrite the first chapter, and the next five or six chapters as a result of that.

Also, there’s, like, no plot. It reminds me of that one line from Mr. Onus in Treasure Planet: “I see nothing! One great big stinking hunk of NOTHING!” :/

Onus

See? Even Mr. Onus is upset at the lack of things happening in my book’s plot.

So, I kind of have to work on that. I need to develop my villain more and raise the stakes, too. I have a few ideas for how to fix those issues, so hopefully I’ll be able to get on that ASAP.

What I learned this month in writing: 

Writing/Editing/Revising a novel isn’t always fun. Sometimes it’s tedious and exhausting and mind-numbing and really, really discouraging. But it’s still worth it, anyway.

What distracted me this month while writing: 

I was on a family road trip for a good two weeks this past month, so that definitely lessened the time I had to work on my manuscript. I’ve also been reading (both for school and for fun) a lot more than writing, which means I’ve made less progress in revisions and edits than I could have if I wouldn’t have been reading. (But Eclipse is boring enough that it might just send me back to editing, hahaha.)

Goal for next month: 

Rewriting the first chapter, building up my villain, and forming a cohesive plot. Tall orders, but with enough motivation, I think I can do it. I’m ready for you, July. (I hope.)

2 thoughts on “WiP Marathon #1: June 2016

  1. Pingback: WiP Wednesday: 7/6/16 – Books, Tea, & Insanity

  2. Pingback: Books, Tea, & Insanity

Leave a Reply

