WiP Wednesday: 4/13/16

Hello! I am back , and a day late. 🙂 Between packing for JEA/NSPA and schoolwork yesterday was pretty busy, and I apologize for the delay.

Having said that, I’m so excited for my first #WiPWednesday post! #WiPWednesday is a weekly meme started by Brigid Gorry-Hines from Wordfare. Every Wednesday, I’m supposed to post an update about my WiP (Work in Progress), including word count and where I’m at in writing/revising it. Hopefully, doing this meme will keep me motivated to continue working on my WiP.

So let’s get started! I’ll try to fill out these categories as best as I can.

WIP:  

I’m not all that comfortable revealing the title just yet, so I’ll call this “The L.S. M.S.” (“L.S.” standing for the initials of the title and “M.S.” standing for “manuscript.” This WiP was my NaNoWriMo 2014 project, so I’ve been working on it for a long time. (In fact, in a day or two, it’ll be exactly one year since I finished the first draft.) It’s about what happens when a vampire aspiring to be leader of his coven has a run-in with Orthodox Christianity.

Writing or Revising? 

Right now, I’m revising my manuscript; I’m on the third draft.  I’ve been rereading it and making chapter summaries so I can go back and delete unnecessary/filler scenes later. I’m also testing new versions of scenes I’ve written with the rest of the manuscript and trying to decide which version works better with the story.

Current Word Count: 97, 984

How It’s Going:

It’s been…interesting, for lack of a better word. Now that I’ve taken off my rose-tinted glasses, I’m noticing a lot more problems and inconsistencies in my manuscript, especially plot-wise, and it’s both overwhelming and disheartening. It still needs a lot more work than I thought, but I am determined to get it to a place where I’m proud of it again.

Goal for Next Week:  

To finish my reread so I can start on the larger edits! That’s much easier said than done, though, so we’ll see. Maybe I’ll have started on that by next week.

There you have it: my first #WiPWednesday post. I’ll see you guys when I get back from JEA/NSPA. Toodeloo!


5 thoughts on “WiP Wednesday: 4/13/16

Leave a Reply

